BoA's Best & USA

BoA - Best & USABoA will be releasing a 'Best' album (the Japanese quivalent of a 'greatest hits') which consists of 1 CD featuring some of her Japanese singles and another CD which is her english language debut album. I'm not a fan of these 'Best' albums. Especially when they get released so often. But getting the English language album thrown in too ain't half bad. Then you've got that album cover, which is FIRE!! This should be the album cover for BoA's US debut, but it probably won't be, which is a shame. I love the concept. And BoA being mad photogenic just makes the picture even hotter.

The official tracklisting is as follows...

CD 1: Best
1. Universe
2. Do the motion
3. Eien
4. Nanairo no Ashita ~Brand new beat~
5. Winter love
6. Meri Kuri ~Best & USA version~
7. Sweet impact
8. Dakishimeru
9. Love letter
10. Sparkling
11. Key of heart
12. Make a secret
13. Everlasting
14. Lose your mind (featuring Yutaka Furukawa of Doping Panda)
15. Believe in love featuring BoA (Acoustic version)
16. Valenti ~Best & USA version~

1. I did it for love (featuring Sean Garrett)
2. Energetic
3. Did ya
4. Look who's talking
5. Eat you up
6. Obsessed
7. Touched
8. Scream
9. Girls on top
10. Dress off
11. Hypnotic dancefloor

The Best tracklist is pretty dissapointing. Some of her Korean singles should've been included, as well as some non-single tracks - as some of BoA's best songs weren't necessarily the ones that got released as singles. It's a real shame the likes of "Love & honesty", "My name", "Outgrow ~Ready butterfly~" and "No more, make me sick" weren't included.

BoA's USA disc will be released on its lonesome in the West and will be self-titled as opposed to its tentative title Look who's talking. I think the original title should've stuck, but what'cha gonna do?! The only producers who've been been confirmed as having worked on the album are Sean Garrett (responsible for writing Ciara's "Goodies", Beyoncé's "Get me bodied", Kelly Rowland's "Like this" and Nicole Scherzinger's "Whatever you like" amongst many others), Brian Kennedy (the man behind Rihanna's "Disturbia", Jennifer Hudson's "If this isn't love" and Brandy's "Fall") and Henrick Jonback who works closely with Bloodshy & Avant (Britney Spears "Toxic", Crystal Kay "It's a crime").

Whilst this Best & USA will make for a cool package; BoA is spreading herself too thinly with it. She should've focused on the english language album and then done a 'Best' album afterwards, featuring a couple of her english language songs. I also think that if BoA's people are going to whore her music out in the East, then they should do it in the West too. They should release her BEST disc on iTunes digitially - just to give those in the West who haven't heard BoA pre-"Eat you up" a crash course in her music. The tracklist isn't brilliant, but it does represent BoA well as an artist: patchy and inconsistent.

BoA will release in the US on March 17, with Best & USA hitting shelves in Japan a day later. The Brian Kennedy produced"Obsessed" is also rumoured to be the next US single.

More Best & USA related going's on: BoA's collaboration with Verbal & Crystal Kay | "Eien" music video


Post a Comment

HTML tags for bold, italic and hyperlinks are allowed