Kumi Koda hops back up on the kitchen counter top for another Best album, Best ~2000-2020~

Kumi Koda hops back up on the kitchen counter top for another Best album, Best ~2000-2020~ | Random J Pop

Kumi Koda is releasing a Best album. And of course it features a shot of her in panties in a kitchen.
Kumi could be in her 80s with a bad hip and arthritis, and this bitch will still have somebody hoist her ass onto a kitchen counter and put a glass in her hand for Best ~2050-2060~.
This Best release is a bit messy, given that Kumi Koda had only released a short compilation album for her fanclub last year. And then she goes and announces this, which is a far better package. No fan is NOT going to buy this, especially with the cover carrying on Kumi's Best tradition. But I guess that's how the music business works. Gotta get that fan money by any means necessary. Fair dos.

The album will be available in 2 editions. The fanclub edition will come on a total of 11 discs (8 CD's and 3 Blu-Rays) and an 36 page booklet. Where-as the regular edition, which feature 4 discs (3 CD's and 1 DVD).

I thought to myself, 'Should I post the whole tracklist?', because the shit is so long for the fanclub edition. But I figured it'd be rude not to.

Kumi Koda hops back up on the kitchen counter top for another Best album, Best ~2000-2020~ | Random J Pop
Kumi Koda - Best ~2000-2020~ (Regular Edition) | © 2020 Avex Entertainment Inc.

TLDR, the fanclub edition features every single Kumi has released to date (both physical and digital) with the exception of her Eternity ~Love & Songs~ and Color the Cover singles. Where-as the regular edition is far more selective. Both editions will feature newer versions of "Cutie Honey", "Hands", "D.D.D.", "Lit" and "Walk of My Life". I don't know why Kumi would even touch "Hands" or "D.D.D". Those songs were perfectly fine as they were. But that's Kumi Koda for you. And it's also strange to include the original versions AND the new versions; especially on the regular edition, where you'd think you'd want to have one set of versions OR the other to make space for other songs.

Fanclub edition (8 CD + 3 Blu Ray)

Disc 1
  1. Take Back
  2. Trust Your Love
  3. Color of Soul
  4. So Into You
  5. Love Across the Ocean
  6. m·a·z·e
  7. Real Emotion
  8. 1000 no Kotoba
  9. Come With Me
  10. Gentle Words
  11. Crazy 4 U

Disc 2
  1. Cutie Honey
  2. Chase
  3. Kiseki
  4. Selfish
  5. Shake It
  6. 24
  7. Hands
  8. Hot Stuff (featuring KM-MARKIT)
  9. Butterfly
  10. Flower
  11. Promise
  12. Star

Disc 3
  1. You
  2. Birthday Eve
  3. D.D.D. (featuring Soulhead)
  4. Shake It Up
  5. Lies
  6. Feel
  7. Candy (featuring Mr.Blistah)
  8. No Regret
  9. Ima Sugu Hoshii
  10. Kamen (featuring Ishii Tatuya)
  11. Wind
  12. Someday
  13. Boys♥Girls

Disc 4
  1. Koi no Tsubomi
  2. Juicy
  3. With Your smile
  4. I'll Be there
  5. Ningyo-hime
  6. Yume no Uta
  7. Futari de...
  8. Cherry Girl
  9. Unmei
  10. But
  11. Aishou
  12. Freaky
  13. Ai no Uta

Disc 5
  1. Anytime
  2. Moon Crying
  3. Once Again
  4. Lady Go!
  5. Taboo
  6. Stay With Me
  7. It's all Love! (Koda Kumi × misono)
  8. Lick me ♥
  9. Ecstasy
  10. Hashire!
  11. Alive
  12. Physical thing
  13. Can We Go Back

Disc 6
  1. Lollipop
  2. Inside Fishbowl
  3. Outside Fishbowl
  4. For You
  5. Suki de, Suki de, Suki de.
  6. Anata Dake ga
  7. Pop Diva
  8. Poppin' Love Cocktail (featuring Teeda)
  9. In the Air
  10. V.I.P.
  11. Ko-so-ko-so
  12. Ai wo Tomenaide
  13. Love Me Back
  14. Go to the Top
  15. Koishikute

Disc 7
  1. LaLaLaLaLa
  2. Is This Trap?
  3. Touch Down
  4. Dreaming Now!
  5. Hotel
  6. So Fever
  7. Kimi Omoi
  8. Never Give It Up
  9. Dance In The Rain
  10. Shhh!
  11. Lit
  12. Hush
  13. Never Enough
  14. Eh Yo
  15. Summer Time

Disc 8
  1. Do Me
  2. Goldfinger 2019
  3. Put Your Hands Up!!!
  4. OMG
  5. Strip
  6. Get Naked
  7. Again
  8. Puff
  9. Lucky Star
  10. XXKK
  11. Cutie Honey (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  12. Hands (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  13. D.D.D. (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  14. Lit (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  15. Walk of My Life (Best ~2000-2020~ version)

Regular edition (3 CD + 1 DVD)

Disc 1
  1. Take Back
  2. Trust Your Love
  3. Love Across the Ocean
  4. Real Emotion
  5. Crazy 4 U
  6. Cutie Honey
  7. Hands
  8. Butterfly
  9. You
  10. D.D.D. (featuring Soulhead)
  11. Wind
  12. Someday

Disc 2
  1. Koi no Tsubomi
  2. Ningyo-hime
  3. Yume no Uta
  4. Ai no Uta 
  5. Anytime
  6. Moon Crying
  7. Taboo
  8. It's all Love! (Koda Kumi × misono)
  9. Lollipop
  10. Suki de, Suki de, Suki de. 
  11. Poppin' Love Cocktail (featuring Teeda)
  12. Dance In The Rain

Disc 3
  1. Lit
  2. Eh Yo
  3. Do Me
  4. Put Your Hands Up!!!
  5. OMG
  6. Again
  7. Puff
  8. XXKK
  9. Cutie Honey (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  10. Hands (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  11. D.D.D. (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  12. Lit (Best ~2000-2020~ version)
  13. Walk of My Life (Best ~2000-2020~ version)

Best albums in an age of streaming sure is strange, because really the only incentive to buy them is for the collectors value. There are official Spotify playlists which are essentially dumps of all of these songs. Shit. Even I made a 'This is Kumi Koda' playlist. But releasing such a condensed best album is a strange move for an artist who has made excessiveness of singles a staple of their brand. I get it. CD sales in Japan, despite still being strong, aren't what they were. And whilst Kumi has made questionable decisions when it comes to her music, she knows her fanclub is where the money is at. So not releasing both editions to retail does make sense. But it really does highlight how tight the purse strings must be at Avex, and just how much Kumi relies on the undying devotion of her fanclub. I do wonder of Kumi locking herself so deep into her fanclub may hurt her in the long run. Some could argue it kinda already has. You never want to lock yourself into your fandom so much that you stop it from attracting new fans. But if she's getting by with it and her fans are happy, then...whatever, I guess.

Kumi Koda's Best ~2000-2020~ releases on December 6, 2021.

đź’ż Album reviews: angeL + monsteR [My Name Is...] | re(CORD)DNA | AND | W Face | Walk Of My Life | Bon Voyage | Japonesque | Color the Cover | Dejavu | Eternity ~Love & Songs~ | Universe | Trick | Kingdom | Black Cherry | Secret | Grow Into One | Feel My Mind | Affection